Australia’s squad for T20 World Cup 2022: Australia Pick Tim David for T20 World Cup 2022

The Australian cricket team has announced their 15-man squad for the T20 World Cup 2022, including big-hitting all-rounder Tim David, who was a surprise inclusion for the New Zealand contingent.

Australia's squad for T20 World Cup 2022 Australia Pick Tim David for T20 World Cup 2022
Australia’s squad for T20 World Cup 2022

Having won the 2021 edition of the tournament in the United Arab Emirates at the hands of the Aussies, Aaron Finch will retain the captaincy as the team looks to defend its title on home soil.

The man who is unlucky to miss out on this opportunity is Mitchell Swepson, who has made a significant impact in the Big Bash and IPL competitions over the past two years.

“There are similarities between this squad and the one that became the first Australian men’s team to win a T20 World Cup and who are now very eager to play in the game at home,” George Bailey, national selector of the Australian team said. 

“Mitchell Swepson was unlucky not to make the squad as we planned for spinny, tired wickets in the UAE at the last World Cup, as opposed to what we would expect to be good batting conditions as well as the larger ground in Australia at that World Cup.

In spite of some quality performances in leagues around the world, Tim continues to establish himself as one of the top players in our squad. The right-handed batsman is a highly gifted, natural ball striker, who will add extra depth to a team that has had a lot of success in T20 cricket by adding more batting depth the group.

The role that he will play in the future will be similar to that which he has been playing in the past few years.

While David Warner is included in the squad, he will miss the upcoming tour of India and will be replaced by Cameron Green, a rising star in the game.

Australia Squad for T20 World Cup 2022

  • Aaron Finch (c)
  • Ashton Agar 
  • Pat Cummins 
  • Tim David 
  • Josh Hazlewood 
  • Josh Inglis 
  • Mitchell Marsh 
  • Glenn Maxwell
  • Kane Richardson 
  • Steve Smith
  • Mitchell Starc 
  • Marcus Stoinis 
  • Matthew Wade 
  • David Warner 
  • Adam Zampa

Similar Posts