Which teams won the T20 World Cup?

Which teams won the T20 World Cup?
Which teams won the T20 World Cup?

There are not much more than a few weeks left before the 2022 T20 World Cup kicks off, where 16 teams will be battling it out for the greatest prize in this format of the game.

Since its inception in 2007, there have been seven editions of this tournament, and the 2022 edition is going to be the eighth one in Australia.

There have been six different champions between the seven tournaments, with West Indies taking out the trophy on two separate occasions, the only nation to have won both tournaments.

Click Here to Watch T20 World Cup Live Streaming

Champion of T20 World Cup?

As of right now, AUSTRALIA is the reigning champion of the T20 World Cup.

Australia won the T20 World Cup in the year 2021 for the first time in history, defeating New Zealand in the final for the first time in history.

There was a first time in history that the trophy was going Down Under, but it came up short in the final in 2010.

A number of other countries have also won the trophy in the past, including India (2007), Pakistan (2009), England (2010), Sri Lanka (2014), and the West Indies (2012 and 2016).

Past Winners of T20 World Cup

In the six tournaments to date, five teams have won the trophy, with West Indies being the only nation to have won it twice in the past.

2012West Indies
2014Sri Lanka
2016West Indies

T20 World Cup Winners

T20 World Cup 2007 Winner: India in 2007 (vs Pakistan)

India and Pakistan fought a nail-biter in the final of the first World Cup in T20 cricket that was held in Johannesburg on the 24th of September 2007. As captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni led the Indian team to victory in the toss and decided to bat first under his leadership. The third wicket fell to Gautam Gambhir, who scored 74 runs from 54 balls while Rohit Sharma smashed 30 runs off 16 balls to score 74 runs. 

Thus, India was able to keep 158 runs on the scoreboard as their target. There were a few early wickets lost by the Pakistani batsmen while chasing and they struggled to get the run rate up. A good performance by Misbah-ul-Haq got Pakistan back into the game and he played nicely. It was a nail-biting finish to the match as 14 runs were required from the last over for Pakistan to win the 2007 T20 World Cup title, and the match was decided in the final over. 

However, Pakistan was not able to make it to the finals and lost the match. There were three wickets taken by RP Singh and three wickets taken by Irfan Pathan in that match. Thus, the Indian team became the first to win a tournament of the T20 world cup in 2007 as a result.

T20 World Cup 2009 Winner: Pakistan (vs Sri Lanka)

When the second T20 World Cup was held in 2009, Pakistan and Sri Lanka reached the final of the competition. At Lord’s, both teams fought hard for the title on the 21st of June. Sri Lanka’s captain won the toss and opted to bat first after winning the toss. After losing Tillakaratne Dilshan in the first over of the match, their grip on the match was lost from the very beginning. 

As a result, Pakistan was able to completely decimate the Lankan top order and no batsman was able to do much except their captain, Kumar Sangakkara, who led the team from the front. His 64 not-out runs contributed to the team scoring 138 on the scoreboard, which was a good result for them. There wasn’t a big target for Pakistani batsmen and they managed to achieve it with the rocking fifty of Shahid Afridi, one of the best batsmen in the world at the moment. As a result of this, Pakistan has crowned the champion of the 2nd T20 cricket World Cup in 2009.

T20 World Cup 2010 Winner: England (vs Australia)

During the final match of the Third T20 World Cup, England and Australia were facing each other for the title of the tournament’s champion. The match was played in Bridgetown on May 16 and got started off with the toss being won by England’s captain, which was followed by the opposition being invited to bat. It was not a good start for Australia and they lost both their openers very quickly. 

They were under pressure when they were at 45-4 at one point, but David Hussey’s 59 runs helped them to reach their final total of 147 after they had been at 45-4 once. While England’s batsmen lost one wicket early in the game, they played with confidence and made 111 runs of partnership for the second wicket despite the loss of one wicket. They won the third T20 World Cup in 2010 thanks to Craig Kieswetter’s 63 runs and Kevin Pietersen’s 47 runs, who played an important role in helping them win the title.

T20 World Cup 2012 Winner: West Indies (vs Sri Lanka)

During the 4th T20 World Cup held in 2012, the West Indies and Sri Lanka both reached the final. The two teams were able to give their best effort in order to win the title on 7 October 2012 in Colombo. After winning the toss, West Indies’ captain put a total of 137/6 on the board while batting first in the match. As a result of Marlon Samuels’ incredible inning of 78 runs, they were able to reach 137 runs in the game. 

Sri Lankan batsmen struggled a lot when chasing the target of 138 runs and they were only bowled out at 101 runs after setting a target of 138 runs. The West Indies won the match by 36 runs in 2012 and lifted the title for the first time since 2001.

T20 World Cup 2014 Winner: Sri Lanka (vs India)

The final of the 2014 ICC T20 World Cup was played between India and Sri Lanka in Dhaka on 6 April 2014, with the winner claiming the title of the tournament. Despite getting the first opportunity to bat, India lost their first wicket so early in their innings. It was a very good performance by Virat Kohli in that match and he scored 78 runs, but their run rate dropped as a result of a slow inning from Yuvraj Singh. 

As a result, India only scored 130 runs and Sri Lanka was able to achieve the target without any hurdles. In 2014, Kumar Sangakkara made 52 runs off just 35 balls, earning his team the victory and lifting the title for his team. 

T20 World Cup 2016 Winner: West Indies (vs England)

At the Kolkata Cricket Ground on Wednesday, 3 April 2016, the final fixture of the 2016 ICC T20 World Cup took place between West Indies and England. As one of the best finals and one of the best tournaments, West Indies and England put everything they had into achieving the World Championship title. It was Carlos Brathwaite who struck four sixes against Ben Stokes in the final to get the victory for his team in the match. 

West Indies had been set a target of 156 runs by England, which was achieved by the remarkable innings of Marlon Samuels and Carlos Brathwaite, both of whom contributed to achieving the target. West Indies won the title for the second time in their history thanks to the unbeaten 84 runs by Marlon Samuels, who helped the Windies to win the title for the second consecutive time.

T20 World Cup 2021 Winner: Australia (vs New Zealand)

It was Australia that won the T20 world cup of 2021 in the final match by defeating New Zealand in the final match. There was no one who was expecting Australia to win the world cup in 2021. It wasn’t easy, but they did it in a dominant manner.

Is there ever a T20 World Cup won by Australia?

As a result of defeating New Zealand in the final of the T20 World Cup in 2021, Australia claimed its first T20 title.

Similar Posts